Skip to content

US PGA Championship 2024: First Round – Live

The opening group of Luke Donald, Shaun Micheel and Michael Block head down the first. Photograph: Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

The opening group of Luke Donald, Shaun Micheel and Michael Block head down the first. Photograph: Ross Kinnaird/Getty ImagesShow key events onlyPlease turn on JavaScript to use this feature

Live feedKey events

Show key events onlyPlease turn on JavaScript to use this feature

Ludvig Aberg’s first hole in a PGA Championship should have ended with birdie. He sends his approach at the par-five 10th to eight feet. But he misreads what looks like a fairly simple putt and his ball dies away on the low side. No damage done, though, and he moves on with par.

Only one Englishman has ever won the PGA … and that happened a long time ago. Jim Barnes was the inaugural winner back in 1916, and he followed that up with a second victory in 1919. Since then, nothing. Zilch. Nix. Nada. In fact, there have only been three other European winners in the entire history of the competition: Padraig Harrington (2008), Martin Kaymer (2010) and Rory McIlroy (2012 and 2014). But along with the aforementioned Luke Donald, the English charge is ON! Matt Wallace rolls in a 20-footer on 1 to join his compatriot at the top of the leaderboard, for what that’s worth after less than an hour of play. But it’s something, and you’ve got to start chipping away at history from somewhere.

-1: Donald (3), Ghim (2*), Wallace (1)




+5: Block (3)

The first shot of this year’s tournament was hit by Michael Block. You’ll remember the California club pro’s antics last year, when at the age of 46 he shot 70 in the third round, then made a hole-in-one with Rory McIlroy standing next to him on Sunday. He finished the week in a tie for 15th, as sensational a story as LIV returnee Brooks Koepka winning the whole thing. Fairytale-infused lightning doesn’t look like striking twice, sadly. Block sent his opening drive into the rough en route to bogey, and has followed that up with a disastrous quadruple-bogey eight on the 2nd, after a short-game zig-zaggy meltdown around the green. He’s +5 already, and a year’s a long time in major-championship golf.

Here we go, then … and the first birdie of the week has been made by one of golf’s nearly men. If you can call a former world number one a nearly man, of course. All hail Luke Donald, who drains a 25-footer on the 1st to become the first player to move into red figures this week. Europe’s current Ryder Cup captain jointly led this tournament after 54 holes at Medinah in 2006 … but on the Sunday, he slipped to a two-over 74 while eventual winner Tiger Woods carded 68. Donald’s tie for third remains his best-ever finish at a major; he also tied for third at the Masters in 2005, though arguably came closest to winning a major when eventually tying for fourth at Augusta six years later. Could this be the time for the 46-year-old to finally make the breakthrough we always thought he would, but never did? Well, almost certainly not. But it’d be lovely, wouldn’t it? We’re allowed to dream.

PreambleThe PGA Championship likes to throw up a leftfield winner every now and then – Mark Brooks won here at Valhalla in 1996, to pluck one example from the ether – so why not this year? The usual suspects are the favourites to succeed, but consider: Scottie Scheffler has just become a dad, Rory McIlroy has just announced his divorce, Jon Rahm is going through a tour-based existential crisis, and defending champ Brooks Koepka has put himself through some “punishment workouts” in the hope of resharpening his competitive edge. So maybe it’s major breakout time for, say, Xander Schauffele, Ludvig Aberg, Max Homa, Patrick Cantlay or Tommy Fleetwood? Could be, could be.

Then again, Scheffler has won four of the last five tournaments he’s entered, coming tied for second in the other, a run that’s landed him the Players and the Masters; Rory has won on his last two outings; Rahm’s year-long tournament drought can’t last forever; and Koepka is also coming off the back of a victory, and he’s lifted the Wanamaker Trophy three times in the last six years. So, y’know.

Here are the first-round tee times (USA unless stated, all times BST) starting at hole 1 …

1215 Michael Block, Luke Donald (Eng), Shaun Micheel

1226 Jeffrey Kellen, Ben Kohles, Alex Smalley

1237 Ryan Fox (Nzl), Josh Speight, Matt Wallace (Eng)

1248 Ryo Hisatsune (Jpn), Zac Oakley, Adam Svensson (Can)

1259 Adam Hadwin (Can), Martin Kaymer (Ger), Taylor Pendrith (Can)

1310 Byeong-Hun An (Kor), Alexander Bjoerk (Swe), Eric Cole

1321 Corey Conners (Can), Nick Dunlap, Adam Schenk

1332 John Daly, Lee Hodges, Robert MacIntyre (Sco)

1343 Kurt Kitayama, Peter Malnati, Victor Perez (Fra)

1354 Zachary Blair, Ben Polland, Ryan van Velzen (Rsa)

1405 Kyoung-Hoon Lee (Kor), Sami Valimaki (Fin), Jeremy Wells

1416 Jared Jones, Taylor Moore, Patrick Rodgers

1427 Kyle Mendoza, Andy Ogletree, Erik van Rooyen (Rsa)

1745 Matt Dobyns, Thriston Lawrence (Rsa), David Puig (Spa)

1756 Denny McCarthy, Keita Nakajima (Jpn), Tracy Phillips

1807 Cameron Davis (Aus), Harris English, Talor Gooch

1818 Jason Day (Aus), Nicolai Hoejgaard (Den), Shane Lowry (Irl)

1829 Billy Horschel, Chris Kirk, Min-Woo Lee (Aus)

1840 Joo-Hyung Kim (Kor), Joaquin Niemann (Chi), Gary Woodland

1851 Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng), Phil Mickelson, Collin Morikawa

1902 Rickie Fowler, Jon Rahm (Spa), Cameron Young

1913 Wyndham Clark, Brian Harman, Scottie Scheffler

1924 Patrick Cantlay, Camilo Villegas (Col), Will Zalatoris

1935 Sam Burns, Padraig Harrington (Irl), Patrick Reed

1946 Mark Hubbard, Brad Marek, Maverick McNealy

1957 Seong-Hyeon Kim (Kor), Braden Shattuck, Chengtsung Pan (Tai)

… and starting at hole 10 …

1220 Tyler Collet, Doug Ghim, Adrian Meronk (Pol)

1231 Larkin Gross, Lucas Herbert (Aus), Grayson Murray

1242 Lucas Glover, Russell Henley, Stephan Jaeger (Ger)

1253 Ludvig Aaberg (Swe), Xander Schauffele, Justin Thomas

1304 Keegan Bradley, Adam Scott (Aus), Tiger Woods

1315 Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy (NIrl), Justin Rose (Eng)

1326 Viktor Hovland (Nor), Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Cameron Smith (Aus)

1337 Max Homa, Brooks Koepka, Jordan Spieth

1348 Tony Finau, Tyrrell Hatton (Eng), Sahith Theegala

1359 Akshay Bhatia, Bryson DeChambeau, Tommy Fleetwood (Eng)

1410 Takumi Kanaya (Jpn), Sepp Straka (Aut), Nick Taylor (Can)

1421 Dean Burmester (Rsa), Ben Griffin, Andrew Svoboda

1432 Preston Cole, Adrian Otaegui (Spa), Tim Widing (Swe)

1740 Rich Beem, Kazuma Kobori (Jpn), Sebastian Soederberg (Swe)

1751 Josh Bevell, Aaron Rai (Eng), Jordan Smith (Eng)

1802 Charley Hoffman, Jesse Mueller, Andrew Putnam

1813 Tom Hoge, Si-Woo Kim (Kor), Alexander Noren (Swe)

1824 Matthieu Pavon (Fra), J. T. Poston, Yong-Eun Yang (Kor)

1835 Jason Dufner, Jake Knapp, Francesco Molinari (Ita)

1846 Thomas Detry (Bel), Rasmus Hoejgaard (Den), Jimmy Walker

1857 Austin Eckroat, Mackenzie Hughes (Can), Luke List

1908 Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Rsa), Beau Hossler, Sung-Jae Im (Kor)

1919 Keith Mitchell, Thorbjoern Olesen (Den), Brendon Todd

1930 Brice Garnett, John Somers, Jesper Svensson (Swe)

1941 Evan Bowser, Emiliano Grillo (Arg), Alejandro Tosti (Arg)

1952 Chris Gotterup, Vincent Norrman (Swe), Wyatt Worthington II

It’s on!

Explore more on these topics

Featured News